The plenary of the European Parliament approved on Thursday a document on Kosovo calling on Spain, Slovakia, Romania, Greece and Cyprus to recognise the Balkan republic. The European Parliament points out that five EU states have not yet recognised Kosovo and invites them to do so.

The text underlines that the recognition would be beneficial for the normalisation of the relations between Kosovo and Serbia. The text was approved by 393 votes in favour, 139 against and 71 abstentions.

Both the Spanish PP and the PSOE have disassociated themselves from the majority vote in their European political families. Spanish conservatives MEPs voted against it (only the PPE Catalan independent Francesc Gambús voted in favour) and the Spanish socialist MEPs abstained. Two years ago, the chamber already asked Spain and the other four states to recognise the independence of Kosovo.